Just another day in paradise

Posted on April 26, 2012

0



Remember when I started this blog and said I wanted a byline every day? Well sometimes on my beat, I get nothing for a couple of days…and then I get slammed. Here’s a day of being slammed. I’ll let you know if anything else comes up this week!

Let me take you through the 24th in chronological order

Articles written on April 24 for the website and the April 25 print edition:

  • It started at 6:30 a.m. with the news that a homicide suspect in West Jefferson had fled to Marion. Marion police, along with other local law enforcement spent four hours on a manhunt, tracking him by cell phone pings. I had to catch up on this one — I was off the day before.
  • Around the time that finished up, there was a two-vehicle, head-on collision on U.S. 23. Granted, it could have been worse (no serious injury), but it was another phone call, tweet, Facebook post and article before getting ready for work.
  • Once I got to work, it was time to update the crash information and the homicide suspect article before getting ready for my next situation: the sentencing of a sex crimes defendant. The man had pleaded to 5 counts of sexual battery. The prosecutor asked for 10 years in prison, the defense wanted probation and counseling. The prosecutor won out in the judges eyes.
  • About an hour before heading out to First Consolidated Fire District for yet another meeting about the fate of Chief Clint Canterbury (put on unpaid admin leave, then taken off, without any explanation for either), a fire broke out on Marion-Edison Road. My colleague covered that one, but I had to get the updates. Even though this was a shared staff report, it still took some time to nail down, and I had to update the story from my iPhone because I was on location. Do you know how hard it is to write a story on an iPhone?
  • Finally, I got to the First Consolidated meeting, and there wasn’t much decided. Canterbury’s future is still in question, but that’s all I know.

 

That’s just kind of how it goes from time to time for the breaking news reporter. Sometimes there’s nothing…and then everything comes in at once!

 

