When you say nothing at all

Posted on January 16, 2012

2



“Don’t underestimate the value of Doing Nothing, of just going along, listening to all the things you can’t hear, and not bothering.”
Pooh’s Little Instruction Book, inspired by A.A. Milne

For a journalist, it is important to find something new to write every day. That’s really hard when almost everything imaginable has been written about already. That’s why I value my time at home, and my writing space on this blog. I can trade dress slacks for pajama pants, and professionalism for sarcasm (of course, at times, there isn’t much of a difference). I can write about the things on my mind that are not involved with work, or expand on something that I’ve done for work.

But, what happens when a writer doesn’t want to say anything?

Tonight, I didn’t watch the news, look at my twitter, or check my Facebook obsessively. Instead, I turned off the computer and hung out with an old friend watching a movie. I never realized how much stress is released by laughing.

“Mirth is God’s medicine.  Everybody ought to bathe in it.”
~ Henry Ward Beecher

Sometimes, even a blogger or a journalist can benefit from time spent with nothing to say. Sometimes you have to turn off the news and unscrew your brain from the blogosphere.

Here are my questions for you this evening: How do you turn off your brain and relax? What do you do when you’re overly stressed? How do you get away from your day?

That’s it for me tonight. It’s past my bedtime.

“Men for the sake of getting a living forget to live.”
~Margaret Fuller

