A recent witchcraft killing

Posted on January 10, 2012

0



“It does me no injury for my neighbor to say there are 20 gods, or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg.”
Thomas Jefferson

There was a 15-year-old boy beaten  to death by his sister and her partner because the teen studied witchcraft. Let me say this again: In this decade, not the 1690s, there was a teen beaten to death because he studied witchcraft.

Relatives accused in witchcraft killing

There was another instance of a woman being beaten to death by teens for being different in 2007. Sophie Lancaster and her boyfriend were jumped by teens. Both were beaten into a coma. Sophie died two weeks later.

I’m sure that, sadly, there are thousands of instances of people being killed because of their differences or beliefs. My question to you is this: In the culture of bullying, power and competition, how do we teach tolerance to the next generation? Is there a way to rid the world of hate that manifests from fear of those who are different?

“Laws alone can not secure freedom of expression; in order that every man present his views without penalty there must be spirit of tolerance in the entire population.”
Albert Einstein

 

