The end of a dramatic year

Posted on January 2, 2012

0



The Ohio State Buckeyes lost 24-17 to the Florida Gators in the 2012 Gator Bowl.

Buckeyes lose Gator Bowl

It brings the end to a dramatic year in college football for the Buckeyes…and for the fans.

2011 marked dramatic losses for Ohio State:

  • Tressel resigned on Memorial Day.
  • Terrelle Pryor left the team soon after.
  • The team vacated the winning 2010-2011 season.
  • Five players were penalized five games, and Devier Posey was only eligible for the final two games of the season.
  • Ohio State lost scholarships and bowl game eligibility for one year.
  • Ohio State slipped out of the AP Top 25 for the first time in years.
  • Ohio State finished the season 6-7 — the worst record in over a decade.

And, honestly, I’m sure there are other things that have happened that I missed.

I think it is going to take some times for the fans to recover from the scandals and the losing season. I didn’t bother to watch the bowl game because I didn’t think OSU deserved to be in a bowl game with their record. I’ve lost a lot of respect for my alma mater’s football team.

All anyone can do now is look forward and hope that with a new coach and some time, the team can regroup, rebuild and have a winning season within the next few years.

 

 

