A snowy rant

Posted on January 2, 2012

2



I used to live in Jacksonville, North Carolina. It was home to four military bases – Camp Lejeune, Camp Geiger, Camp Johnson and New River Air Station. There were people from all over the country who lived there. So when we got snow on occasion, it wasn’t odd to see a few cars in the ditch. I mean, there is a good part of the country who didn’t know how to drive in snow.

Oh yeah, and there were no snowplows. I remember one time, the National Weather Service was calling for 1-3 inches of snow for Thursday, and they cancelled all the local schools and the community college for Thursday and Friday. There was slush on the ground by noon that Thursday.

I’ve drifted off topic (get it…snow..drift? Yeah it wasn’t that clever). Now let’s move to Ohio, and particularly, Marion County, Ohio. Marionites are subject to snow every year. Last year, there was snow, then ice, then snow, then ice…it made a nice parfait-layered chaos on the roads. In that kind of weather, I expect there to be accidents, cars in ditches, etc.

And that brings me to my point: Why do people in Marion get amnesia every year and forget how to drive in snow during the first snow of the season? I understand the roads are slick. If the roads are slick (and you’ve lived in Marion and had your license more than 10 months), you know to go slow, keep a safe stopping distance, etc. So why did every law enforcement agency in the county tell me that there were a number of fender benders today? Why do I see people speeding by my window on 309 like its 75 degrees and sunny? Think people. Slow down and make good choices.

There’s only so many emergency management personnel on the roads these days in Marion. Use common sense and try to avoid an accident. Stay safe!

Posted in: Journal Entry