My top 11 news stories of 2011

Posted on December 31, 2011

0



Everyone else is doing a top 11 of 2011, so I’ll do one too.

Disclaimer: Your list may be very different from mine. These are the news stories that resonated with me this year. Feel free to share your list with me or leave a comment with a story I may have missed! Enjoy!

Top 11 national/international news stories of 2011 (in no certain order)

1. 10 year anniversary of 9/11

2. Acquittal of Casey Anthony

3. Protests – Arab Spring, Occupy Wall Street, etc.

4. The economy/unemployment rate

5. Tsunami hits Japan

6. The death of Osama bin Laden

7.  NCAA Football Scandals: Ohio State & Penn State

8. The death of Steve Jobs

9. The end of News of the World

10. The royal wedding

11. The Oprah Winfrey show finale

Ok, the last two I put kind of begrudgingly. I wasn’t a huge fan of Oprah, but I realize that she was an amazing, successful woman. And, while my mom was crazy for the royal wedding, it wasn’t a huge deal for me…but it was a huge news story.

Top 11 local/state news stories of 2011 (again, in no certain order)

1. Flooding in Marion County

2. Law enforcement layoffs

3. The death of Kathy Dixon

4. Exotic Animals

5. Issue 2

6. Prison privatization

7. The resignation of Jim Tressel

8. Unemployment rates

9. 2011 Marion County Election – County Sales Tax, Levies, Mayoral Race, etc.

10. Urban Meyer at OSU

11. I’ll leave this up to you — what do you think was the most important news in the county/state this year?

