Telling it best

Posted on December 30, 2011

0



My job is pretty cool.

Yesterday, I was beating myself up about not getting the fire story first. Then today, as I’m looking over the reports from different news sources, I realized that I had a more complete story. While I do want to strive to be first, I’m pretty happy that I told it the best I could. Of course, that could be tooting my own horn, but I think that’s allowed on my own blog, right?

Not only did I tell paint a more complete picture for the reader, but I also didn’t tell the story directly from a press release. I sat at City Hall and spoke to the police. I went to the scene and spoke to the fire investigators. I interviewed the man who made the 9-1-1 call, etc.

Then today, I followed up on the story — something that the big news outlets in Columbus may not bother to do. This was an important story for my community, but to media outlets in big cities, it is just another day and another disaster.

That’s why I love my job. I get to report the news to my community. I get to dig up the facts they want to know and hunt down the answers to their questions. Like I said, that’s pretty cool.

